Jul 08, 2017

1 October 1960

Nigeria got independence from British rule on 1 October 1960.

1 October 1963

Nigeria proclaimed itself the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

15 January 1966

Few junior army officers overthrew the government and assassinated the prime minister.

30 May 1967

Lt. Col. Emeka Ojukwu declared the independence of the eastern region of Nigeria as the Republic of Biafra.

29 July 1975

Gen. Murtala Mohammed along with a group of officers staged a bloodless coup and replaced thousands of civil servants.

13 February 1976

Gen. Murtala Mohammed was assassinated.

1 October 1979

Alhaji Shehu Shagari became president of Nigeria.

31 December 1983

Military overthrew the government and Major General Muhammadu Buhari emerged as the leader of the Supreme Military Council.

27 August 1985

General Ibrahim Babangida overthrew Muhammadu Buhari in a coup, and became president of Nigeria.

29 May 2015

Muhammadu Buhari became 15th President of Nigeria.

  • Likes